The day the came after us was the day I discovered concrete doors. The doors led straight down they had been covered by dirt in the backyard. Sally was home from school for the week, she didn’t know they would come after us yet and she helped me open the concrete doors. We used a crow-bar and a shovel and we were kind of excited. We stopped for lemonade halfway, buzzing with this excitement of discovery. We finally got in to the secret room under the house and the main thing we found was a kind of weapon. I didn’t know what it would do. Sally didn’t know. But we knew it was sleek and it was metallic. It was like in the movies. I held it and pointed it at her and she smiled. The trigger felt smooth and nice but I didn’t try it out yet. This happened before they came after us.

